Things You Need to Know About the 7 Major Chakras

A chakra is the point in an individual’s body that contains an energy center; one that is either associated with physical, mental, or emotional interactions. It is understood as being the pathway to a person’s aura, which allows for life energy to flow in and out. Basically, a chakra is meant to vitalize the physical body and bring out the development of a deeper sense of self-awareness. The seven major chakras are commonly known as root, sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, third eye and crown. Each of them is vital to increasing an awareness of mind, body, and spirit, so it helps to know them thoroughly.

Credit: Pixabay

The following are a few key points to remember about these major chakras, and how to use them optimally.

The Root Chakra – seeing red

The root chakra is the first one we are going to explore, due to its color and location. Most guide to chakras will tell you that the root chakra, associated with the color red, is meant to align the mind with the physical body. It is located at the base of the lower spine, and if you suffer from ailments such as lower back pain, depression, or immune system-based disorders, then that might be a clear sign that your root chakra is deeply imbalanced. One way to remedy this is through diet: foods that nourish the root are carrots, radishes, onions, and hot spices such as paprika and cayenne pepper.

The Sacral Chakra – penny for your thoughts?

Located between the vulnerable areas found in your lower abdomen and navel area, the sacral chakra radiates all of your creative energy,  and “glows” an orange color. It is also the source of your emotional energies, both negative and positive: guilt, envy, issues with money, sex, power or morality are all located here, so tread carefully.

Credit: Pixabay

The Solar Plexus – high noon

Associated with a bright yellow, sun-like color at the height of noon, the solar plexus cultivates the ego and a person’s sense of self-worth. It is also the site of emotional fears such as rejection and indecisiveness. The more likely one devotes his or herself to the practices of self-care and love, the stronger the solar plexus chakra will be.

The Heart Chakra – the heart of the matter

The heart chakra is known by its green or pink colors, and it is the center of love in both our emotional and physical bodies. Heart conditions, or issues with the lungs, or breast cancer is often considered to be symptomatic of a wounded heart chakra. Again, a good diet can help offset these issues. Bread, flax seeds, dairy products, mint, and turmeric are just a few of the foods that can help balance the heart chakra.

The Throat Chakra – an open book

Being an open and honest person is often connected to the throat chakra, which is the color sky blue. However, deceit and being an inauthentic person infects the energy of the throat chakra, rendering the energy levels completely out of sync. A person with a good throat chakra is able to be responsible for his or her own needs, and does not pretend to be something or someone he or she is not.


Source: Pixabay

The Third Eye Chakra – the mind’s eye

The brow or third-eye chakra as it is also known is linked to the color indigo, or dark blue. This is where the subconscious reigns supreme. Located in the middle of your forehead, the brow chakra is the center of wisdom and the ability to learn. While it encourages dreaming, or “visions,” it is also the center, which most influences the brain, neurological system, eyes, ears, and nose. One way to strengthen this chakra is by eating berries, red grapes, lavender, and drinking red wine.

The Crown Chakra – spiritual awakening

The crown chakra, which radiates the colors violet or white, is the center of spiritual connection. Often represented in the form of a lotus flower in popular art, it is physically located at the top of your head. There are different ways to balance the crown chakra, but the most popular methods are fasting or detoxing to help clear the energy flow. Also, using crystals can be helpful, as Amber or Moldavite stones can balance this particular chakra, which therefore sustains your spiritual alignment.

Unblocked and balanced chakras are the key to ensuring your overall physical and mental well being. If you suffer from feelings of emotional distress and isolation, or physically feel sluggish and in pain, trying to become more in tune with what your body is attempting to tell you via the chakras is deeply helpful. A good diet is an excellent start, but you should also look into different daily practices such as meditation or yoga to further fortify your bodily and spiritual hunger.

Leave a Comment